Uganda Country Facts and Figures

Uganda is a Land Locked country found along the East African plateau brtweenLatititude 4N and 2S,  Longitude 29 and 35E. Uganda’s landscape slopes downwards towards the North. It is bordered by Kenya to the East; South Sudan to the North; Tanzania to the South; Rwanda to the Southwest and The Democratic Republic of Congo to the West. It is flanked by the Albertine Rift Valley to the West and the East African Rift Valley to the East. Although generally Equatorial, climate is determined by altitude. The South and Western regions are characterized with cold temperatures and wetter compared to the other regions. The North Eastern region has the driest climate, which sometimes turns out to be drought.

Uganda takes its name from Buganda, a Kingdom in the Central region, with its people, the Baganda, belonging to the Bantu Ethnic Group. It gained independence on the 9th October 1962, getting its National flag and the National Anthem.The Flag of Uganda has six horizontal  bands of Black, Yellow and Red. The colors represent the African People (black), Africa’s Sunshine (yellow) and African Brotherhood (Red). It also has a grey crowned crane at the center, a symbol which represents the gentle nature of the nation. The crowned crane was the Military’s badge for Uganda’s soldiers during the British Colonial rule.

The nation is divided into districts which are spread in all the four administrative regions of Northern, Western, Eastern and Central. Currently, Uganda has a total of 111 districts, which are subdivided by counties and named after their main commercial and administrative towns. The Counties are further sub-divided into Sub-counties, Parishes and Villages. The districts are home to about 34.6million people (2015 Census), with a total of six traditional Kingdoms which belong to the Bantu Ethnic. The Kingdoms include Toro, Ankole, Bunyoro, Rwenzururu in the Western Region; Buganda in the Central region; and Busoga in the Eastern Region.

Country Facts and Figures Summary

CAPITAL: Kampala


Total Area:    241,559Km²

Land Area:  199,808Km²

Water and Swamp: 41,743Km²


Arable Land:             25%

Permanent Crops:     9%

Permanent Pastures: 9%

Forests & Woodland: 28%

Other:             29%


Minimum (Albert Nile):  620 meters

Maximum( Mt.Rwenzori) 5,109 meters


Temperature: 17°C (Western region) to 32°C (Northern region)

Annual Rainfall: 1,436mm


Population: 34.6 million (2015 Census)

Female Population: 51.1%

Male Population: 48.9%

Urban Population: 14.7 %

Aged under 15 Years:49%

Aged 65+: 2.1%

Annual Growth Rate: 3.2%

Life expectancy: 59Yrs.  (Male: 50 years Female: 59 years)


English and Swahili


Male: 76%       Female:63%


Roman Catholic: 33%

Anglican: 33%

Muslim: 16%

Others: 18%

Name   Population       Latitude/Longitude

1          Kampala  , Central Region      1,353,189

2          Gulu  , Northern Region         146,858

3          Lira  , Northern Region           119,323

4          Mbarara  , Western Region     97,500

5          Jinja  , Eastern Region            93,061

6          Bwizibwera  , Western Region           79,157

7          Mbale  , Eastern Region          76,493

8          Mukono, Central Region        67,290

9          Kasese  , Western Region       67,269

10        Masaka  , Central Region        65,373